Gluten free beers are becoming more available and more delicious by the day.
With plenty of craft breweries popping up and new beer subscription box services, the issue is no longer trying to find a gluten free beer, but instead, trying to find the perfect one for your palette.
Gluten free beer is brewed mainly from cereals such as rice, buckwheat, corn, sorghum, and millet, all of which don’t contain any gluten.
Other are made with rye or barley but the gluten levels are reduced to under 20 ppm (parts per million).
Today, a beer is considered gluten free if it contains less than 20 ppm gluten. This is mainly common in the U.S., Canada, and Europe. However, in Australia, in order for a beer to be gluten free, it has to have zero particles of detectable gluten. So keep that in mind when drinking gluten free beer around the world.
Although most gluten free beers are typically safe to drink for almost all drinkers, including those with severed gluten allergies, sensitivities, or Celiac Disease, there are a few that should be avoided, such as Omission. (It remains on this list because people on a non-medical or health related gluten free diet can still drink it.)
But other than that, most gluten free beers are perfect for anyone on a gluten free diet.
So with that being said, let’s jump straight into the gluten free beer listing!
Gluten Free Beer List
Here’s the complete tasty gluten free beer list of all the brands (some craft, most mainstream) that you can check out. Just click on the beer name below to go straight to their website where you can learn more about the beer itself as well as where you can purchase them.
Check Out Our Gluten Free Alcohol Guide
In the guide you’ll find an in-depth listing of gluten free vodka, rum, whiskey, brandy, tequila, beer, hard cider, and so much more.
Gluten Free Beer FAQS
Here’s a few answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about gluten free beer. Hopefully this helps!
What is gluten free beer made from?
Generally, gluten free beer is made from millet, rice, sorghum, buckwheat, and corn, all of which are ingredients that don’t contain gluten. This as a result, doesn’t trigger an autoimmune response in people with Celiac disease.
Some breweries will still brew with barley or rye but reduce the levels of gluten to below 20 ppm.
What’s the gluten free standard?
In the United States (and most countries), a beer is considered gluten free if the gluten level is under 20 ppm (parts per million.)
In order to place a “gluten free” label on your beer, it must by under 20 ppm, the FDA approval rating.
However, some people still tend to feel sick after drinking beer that have been distilled. So be sure to drink at your own risk.
What gluten free beer can I find at most restaurants (mainly restaurant chains)?
Generally, in the United States, you’ll find Redbridge gluten free beer.
Is gluten free beer more expensive?
Generally speaking, most gluten free beers are considered craft beers, thus placing a premium of around $1.50-$2.00 on their prices.
What’s the best tasting gluten free beer?
Glutenberg tends to be a favorite (according to Redditers)
Are there any healthy gluten free beers?
Tough question. Beer (or alcohol in general) isn’t healthy – besides red wine of course. However, there tends to be a lot of hidden ingredients in beer that are really bad for you. However, this is normally found in mainstream beer. Once you start drinking craft beers (including gluten free beers) you’ll tend to find more organic and GMO free ingredients. According to Greenfield Fitness, Omission is possibly the healthiest option out there.
Is Redd’s Apple Ale safe to drink?
Although from the outside this drink may seem like a hard cider, it’s actually a normal ale with apple flavoring. So be sure to avoid this at all costs.
Are there any beers that are technically gluten free but not certified?
Yes. One brand in the United States that claims to have gluten free beers (although not certified yet) is a small brewery called Rickoli.
Is Corona, Bud Light, Coors Light, Miller, Dos Equis, Shock Top, or Samuel Adams gluten free?
No, these beer are not. However, you can find gluten free Coors Light called Coors Peak and a gluten free beer made by Annheuser Busch called Redbridge.
Thanks for reading and don’t forget to check out our complete listing of gluten free alcohol as well as our vegan alcohol guide (just in case you want to help out one of your vegan friends, co-workers, or family members.)