Remember that time when you first went gluten free and you had to give up your beloved Honey Nut Cheerios?
That may have been a pretty sad day in your life.
But what if I told you that you can finally have a bowl of Cheerios once again?
Yes, it’s true, because Cheerios are soon going gluten free!
So how is this possible.
Well according to General Mills, they developed a way to “sort out the small amount of wheat, rye and barley in our supply of whole oats that are inadvertently introduced at the farms where the oats were grown, or during transportation of the whole oats to the mill.”
This ensures that the oats used for Cheerios allow us to meet the FDA’s strict guideline for gluten free, thus allowing Cheerios to label their products gluten free.
And don’t worry, this doesn’t mean that the Cheerios’ taste are being changed because the recipe is staying exactly the same.
“This is exciting news for the cereal category, probably the biggest news since our commitment to whole grain in every box,” says Jim Murphy, president of our Big G cereal division. “We know there are many consumers – as much as 30 percent in the U.S. – who avoid gluten. And, people are looking for more gluten-free options for cereal so it’s important that we make these five varieties of gluten-free Cheerios available.” – Read more here.
Gluten free Cheerios will be hitting the shelves in July!
(Watch Cheerios Are Going Gluten Free)
Leave a Comment