Finding a safe and delicious gluten free alcoholic beverage has become growingly difficult.
From the ongoing debate about distilled alcohol being gluten free or not to the accidental mix ups by the bartender, it’s a challenge to find a gluten free alcoholic beverage that works for you and your diet.
The Ultimate Gluten Free Alcohol List
In this gluten free alcohol listing, you’ll find all the beers, hard ciders, vodkas, rums, tequilas, and other hard liquors that are gluten free. Just note that if a product or brand has (don’t drink if allergic to gluten) it’s because it’s not truly safe for anyone with Celiac or a gluten sensitivity. Although those alcohols are “gluten free” or “wheat free” there is still a very small trace of gluten in them, even after the distillation process. Although this trace of gluten is microscopic, really sensitive Celiacs or gluten allergenic folks may have a negative reaction to those products.
So just be safe and drink what you think is best for your body.
Here’s what you’ll find in this gluten free alcohol listing. (Just click on the category to be taken straight to the specific section of the list)
- The Ultimate Gluten Free Alcohol List
- Gluten Free Beer Brands
- Gluten Free Hard Cider Brands
- Gluten Free Vodka Brands
- Gluten Free Tequila Brands
- Gluten Free Rum Brands
- Gluten Free Gin Brands
- Gluten Free Hard Sodas
- Gluten Free Hard Seltzer
- Other Gluten Free Liquors and Brands
- General Gluten Free Alcohol FAQs
- Get Your Alcohol Delivered to Your Door
- Popular Gluten Free Alcoholic Drinks
- Looking for a gluten free shopping list?
- PLEASE SHARE THIS
Although I am very confident in this listing, I am human, so mistakes may have been made. I urge you to please double check the labels of alcoholic beverages to ensure that they are truly gluten free.
So with that being said, let’s just straight into this gluten free alcohol list.
(Be sure to bookmark this page as new additions will be made often!)
Gluten Free Beer Brands
Gluten free beers are becoming more available and more delicious by the day. With plenty of craft breweries popping up, the issue is no longer trying to find a gluten free beer, but instead, trying to find the perfect one for your palette.
- Alley Cat Scona Gold Kolsch
- Alt Brew
- Against the Grain
- Armored Cow Brewing
- Bards Beer
- Billabong Brewing
- Brewdog Vagabond Pale Ale
- Brewery Rickolli
- Brunehaut Blanche
- Burning Brothers Brewing
- Departed Soles Brewing Company
- Drummond Gluten Free
- Eckert’s Malting and Brewing
- Epic Brewing Company Glutenator
- Estrella Damm Daura
- Evasion Brewing
- Ghostfish Brewing
- Green’s Gluten Free Beer
- Ground Breaker Ale
- Hambleton Ales
- Holiday Brewing
- Ipswich Ale Celia Saison
- Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail
- Lammsbräu by Neumarkter
- Minhas Lazy Mutt
- Mongozo’s Exotic Flavored Pilsners
- New Grist
- New Planet Beer
- Nickel Brook Gluten Free
- Nouvelle France
- Omission Beer (don’t drink if severely allergic to gluten)
- Ramapo Valley Brewery Honey Beer
- Rebellion Brewing
- RedBridge Beer
- Rolling Mills
- Schnitzer Bräu
- Sprecher’s Gluten Free Beer
- St. Peter’s
- Steadfast Pale Ale
- Two Bays Brewing Co
- Two Brother’s
- Tumma Kukko
- Uinta Brewing
- Whistler Forager
- World Top
Gluten Free Hard Cider Brands
If you absolutely HATE beer, then you should definitely try a delicious hard cider. Plus, there are a log of brands that are gluten free! Just remember that not all hard ciders are gluten free because some brands do barley for enzymes and flavor. So be sure to read the labels carefully.
Here are all the gluten free hard ciders that you can check out:
- Ace Pear Cider
- Angry Orchard
- Blue Mountain Cider Company
- Blackthorn Cider
- Bulmer’s Hard Cider
- Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
- Gaymer Cider Company
- Harpoon Craft Cider
- J.K. Scrumpy’s Organic Hard Cider
- Lazy Jack’s Cider
- Magner’s Cider
- Newton’s Folly Hard Cider
- Original Sin Hard Cider
- Smith and Forge Hard Cider
- Spire Mountain Draft Cider
- Strongbow Cider
- Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
- Woodpecker Cider
Gluten Free Vodka Brands
Vodka is a very tricky alcohol for gluten free drinkers. You see, technically, during the distillation process of the vodka, the gluten proteins from wheat based vodkas is supposed to be removed. However, many people have claimed that these vodkas (made from wheat) still contain gluten, thus leaving them feeling sick and nauseous. So to be safe, stay away from all wheat based vodkas if you have Celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity.
However, you can still opt for a non-wheat, potato, corn, or grape based vodka which are typically cleared for gluten free consumption.
Here are all the safe gluten free vodka brands that you can purchase and enjoy:
- Blue Ice Vodka
- Bombora Vodka
- Boyd and Blair
- Burnett’s Vodka
- Cayman Blue Vodka
- Chase Distillery Vodka
- Chopin Polish Vodka
- Ciroc Ultra Premium Vodka
- Cold River Vodka
- Crop Artisanal Vodka
- Crystal Head
- Deep Eddy
- Devotion Vodka
- Famous Vodka
- Glacier Vodka
- Gordon’s Vodka
- Grand Teton
- Grey Goose (made from wheat)
- Iceberg Vodka
- Kamchatka Vodka
- Karlsson’s Handcrafted Swedish Vodka
- Krome Vodka
- Luksusowa Vodka
- Ocean Vodka
- Polar Ice
- Pau Maui Hawaiian Vodka
- Rain Vodka
- Rocket Vodka
- RWB Vodka
- Smirnoff Vodka
- Social House Vodka
- Teton Glacier Vodka
- Three Olives
- Tito’s Handmade Vodka
- UV Vodka (vodka is gluten free, but the facility isn’t)
- V-One Vodka
- VDKA 6100
- Vikingfjord Vodka
Gluten Free Tequila Brands
When tequila is made the traditional way with a blue agave plant is naturally gluten free. However, there are cheap brands that contain gluten, which are called “mixto.” So to make sure that your tequila is gluten free, be sure that the bottle says, “100% agave.”
Listed below are only the popular gluten free tequila brands:
So let’s get straight to it!
- 1519 Tequila
- 1800 Tequila
- Agavales Gold
- Cabo Wabo
- Casa Noble Anejo
- Casa Noble Crystal
- Don Julio Tequila
- Don Sergio
- Dos Hombres
- El Destilador Blanco
- El Jimador
- El Padrino
- Fortaleza Blanca
- Herradura Tequila
- Jose Cuervo
- Legado Blanco
- Lunazul Reposado
- Olmeca Altos Plata
- Patron Tequila
- Siete Leguas
- Suaza Tequila
- Suerte Tequila Blanco
Gluten Free Rum Brands
Rum, which is a distilled alcoholic drink made from molasses and sugarcane is generally considered gluten free. The only time you have to worry about whether or not they contain gluten is if a flavor is introduced to the rum. But if you stick with a plain rum, you are usually in the clear.
- Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
- Bacardi (only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored)
- Bayou Rum
- Bundaberg Rum
- Captain Morgan Rum
- Cruzan Rum
- Malibu Rum
- Mount Gay Rum
- Myer’s Rum
Gluten Free Gin Brands
Technically, through distillation gin is usually gluten free. However, it is recommended that if you are allergic to gluten or live with Celiac Disease, then you should avoid all gins that are made from wheat, rye, and barley and instead try gin derived from other sources like corn, potatoes, and grapes.
Gluten Free Hard Sodas
Although many major hard root beer and soda companies brew with malt, there are a handful that are brewed with gluten free ingredients. Here are all the gluten free hard soda brands that you can try:
Gluten Free Hard Seltzer
Hard seltzer are made from purified water that has been infused with delicious fruit flavors along with alcohol that has been derived from gluten free malt alcohol. Here are all the gluten free bubbly hard seltzer beverages that are gluten free:
- Artic Summer
- Bodega Bay Hard Seltzer
- Bold Rock Seltzer
- Bon & Viv
- Bud Light Seltzer (USA-only)
- Cape Line
- Coors Hard Cider
- Corona Seltzer
- Crook & Marker
- Fruit Smash
- Henry’s Hard Sparkling Seltzer
- High Noon Sun Sips
- Michelob ULTRA Organic Seltzers
- Mighty Swell
- Nauti Seltzer
- Press Premium Hard Seltzer (gluten removed)
- Pura Still Spiked Still Water (gluten removed)
- Smirnoff Spiked Sparkling Seltzer (gluten removed)
- Topo Chico Hard Seltzer
- White Claw Hard Seltzer
- Wild Basic Boozy Sparkling Water
- Willie’s Superbrew
Other Gluten Free Liquors and Brands
Here are some of the other gluten free alcohol choices including whiskey, gin, brandy, and more.
- Americanaki Ouzo
- Bailey’s Irish Cream (if allergic to gluten, don’t drink)
- Calvados (most, if not all brands are safe)
- Brandy (all brands are safe, just watch out for flavored brandy)
- Fireball Cinnamon Whisky (don’t drink if allergic to gluten)
- Harvey’s Bristol Cream
- Hennessy Cognac
- Jack Daniel’s
- Jameson Irish Whiskey (don’t drink if allergic to gluten)
- Johnnie Walker Scotch (don’t drink if allergic to gluten)
- Kahlua (don’t drink if allergic to gluten)
- Pura Still
- Sambuca (most, if not all brands)
- Skinny Girl Margaritas
General Gluten Free Alcohol FAQs
Here are the most popular gluten free alcohol questions most readers tend to have:
Is wine gluten free?
Yes, all wine is gluten free!
Most wine tends to be gluten free from an ingredients perspective. The only time wine may be suspect to glutenous ingredients or cross contamination is from the wheat paste/sealant used in wine barrels.
This sealant sometimes tend to leak into the wine thus cross contaminating the wine.
However, most wineries are starting to remove this paste from their barrels.
So if you do have any questions about whether or not a wine contains gluten, it’s advised to contact the winery directly to see if their wines or barrels contain any wheat or glutenous ingredients.
But on a side note, if you’re looking for delicious wines to experience and try, I suggest you check out one of these wine subscription boxes.
Basically the way it works is that each company will send you a box of wine that are all based on your tastes and palette.
It truly is a pretty awesome concept!
Is distilled alcohol gluten free?
Although hard liquors such as vodka, bourbon, whiskey, gin, and scotch are made from glutenous grains, they are actually made gluten free through the rigorous distillation process.
So basically even though some liquors are made with gluten, after distillation, all the gluten is removed from the final product.
Thankfully, there are a couple fool proof liquors that are usually always gluten free such as tequila which is made from agave, rum which is made from sugar cane, and brandy which is basically distilled wine.
All of which are not made from wheat or any glutenous main ingredients.
Is rum gluten free?
Rum is gluten free.
Since rum is made from sugar cane and molasses, it is usually safe to drink. The only time you need to worry about any glutenous ingredients is when flavors are added to the rum.
As a result, we recommend sticking with plain rums. But if you want a little flavor in your life, be sure to double check with the rum brand and examine the ingredients on the bottle thoroughly.
Popular gluten free rum brands include Malibu, Kraken, and Captain Morgan. Bacardi has quite a few gluten free rum options but those include gold, superior, 151, and flavored.
Is gin gluten free?
Yes, gin made from potatoes and grapes is gluten free.
Although most gin that is made from wheat, barley, and rye, is made gluten free through distillation, those that are allergic to gluten or live with Celiac Disease tend to react negatively to most gins.
That’s why it’s advised to stick with gin variations that have been made from grapes and potatoes.
By far the most popular and safe gluten free gin is made by Cold River Gin which is derived from potatoes and G-Vine which is derived from grapes.
Famous gin brands like Hendrick’s and Bombay are technically gluten free through distillation, but since they are made with wheat, barley, and rye, these are usually unsafe for those with sensitivities.
Is tequila gluten free?
Yes, if the tequila is made the natural way using blue agave, it is gluten free.
However, if the tequila is sold or marketed as mix, then these variations will sometimes include gluten.
As a result, that’s why it’s so important to opt for a tequila that has bee made with 100% agave and that’s it.
And don’t worry, the age or color of the tequila will not affect whether of not it contains gluten.
Is beer gluten free?
The popular beer brands you know and love are not gluten free. This includes the likes of Budweiser/Bud Light, Miller, Coors, Blue Moon, Stella Artois, Corona, and Michelob just to name a few.
However, there are quite a few specialty breweries that excel in creating naturally gluten free, gluten reduced, and gluten removed beers.
Popular gluten free options include Redbridge (Anheuser-Busch), Bard’s Gold Lager, and Glutenberg.
Just be sure to watch out for gluten removed beers which are made with gluten containing ingredients but have them removed through distillation. Unfortunately, this process is not 100% perfect resulting in U.S. retailers not being allowed to sell/market these particular beers as gluten free.
Popular gluten removed beers include Omission, New Planet, and Green’s.
For a better understanding of gluten free beer brands and specific options, be sure to read our in-depth guide.
Is vodka gluten free?
Although most experts tend to consider vodka to be gluten free even if it’s made from wheat, rye, or barley, those that suffer from gluten allergies, sensitivities, or Celiac disease react to vodka that has been been made with glutenous grains.
That’s why to stay on the safe side, we recommend opting for a vodka that has been made from gluten free ingredients like grapes, corn, or potatoes.
Popular safe brands include Ciroc, Titos, and Smirnoff.
Be sure to read our more in-depth rundown on vodka.
Is hard seltzer gluten free?
Yes hard seltzer is gluten free. Most if not all hard seltzers are made using purified water, fruit flavors, and malt alcohol. Plus, most brands tend to opt for a sugar free variation of there hard seltzer beverages.
Get Your Alcohol Delivered to Your Door
Get your favorite gluten free liquor delivered straight to your door using Saucey!
Use the code SAS to get $10 off your first alcohol delivery order HERE.
Popular Gluten Free Alcoholic Drinks
Here are some awesome articles about some of the best gluten free alcoholic drinks and cocktails you can make with all the gluten free liquors listed above.
Plus, you can generally use this listing as a menu of all potential drinks that you can order at most bars and restaurants.
So with that being said, here are the most popular cocktails that can me made using the gluten free liquor. Just be sure to request one of the alcohols listed above to ensure a truly gluten free experience.
- Old Fashioned
- Moscow Mule (Ginger beer is naturally gluten free)
- Whiskey Sour
- Mint Julep
- Vodka Cranberry
Plus, below, you’ll find some great recipes that you can try at home. Trust me, these are not to be missed.
- 8 Gluten Free Cocktail Recipes
- Glutenista’s Gluten Free Drink Recipes
- Gluten Free Alcoholic Mixed Drink Recipes by Yummly
- Gluten Free Recipes and Cocktails by Gluten Free Recipe Box
And if you are looking for the perfect ingredients and supplies to make these delicious gluten free cocktails, be sure to check out our guide on how to save money on groceries.
Looking for a gluten free shopping list?
If you want to make gluten free cocktails at home but want to make sure all your mixers and add-ins are gluten free free, be sure to check out our awesome grocery shopping guide!
Thanks for reading. If you have any other gluten free alcohol suggestions, please leave a comment below.
And on a side note, we are always updating this listing so be sure to keep it bookmarked.
PLEASE SHARE THIS
P.S. For a full rundown of gluten free foods and drinks, be sure to check out our list of gluten free foods. Or if shopping for these foods isn’t your thing be sure to check out these gluten free subscription box companies that will send you delicious gluten free goodies every month!
I believe it is the caramel color that is added to it that makes it not GF. I
Take a look at Drake’s. My local bar just switched to this. It Certified Vegan, Kosher, Gluten Free and organic. Did cost an arm and a leg either!
It is NOT gluten free! It’s made from Winter wheat near their plant in Sweden !
Many of us with celiac also have issues with corn.
Next time you update this it would be awesome if you put (especially in the gin list) what the alcohol is derived from in parentheses next to each one. I’ve been wanting to try gin for so long.
It’s such a pain because so many of these companies won’t list any information about what goes into their alcohol and asking each one and actually getting a helpful response (due to secret recipes/ingredients and whatnot) is even more difficult. I’m sure you know since you have done this research yourself. <3
Nice post.Thank you so much for sharing this post.
I just found organic and vegan wines on juicefly.com
Please add “Más Agave” to the list by “Founders”. As with anything, before you drink, do your research, but I have not had any problems with it personally and it tastes better than any hard Seltzer I have had before
Check to see if the barrels used by the company have wheat/corn. My buddy is full celiac and learned the hard way
Great article.It is informative blog.Thank you so much for sharing this post.
Thank you for sharing this post.barley and instead try gin derived from other sources like corn, potatoes, and grapes.
no whiskey is totally gluten free,
That’s great information for me. Thank you for your information.
Thank you for all this amazingly
Helpful information. How can I find out if a flavored vodka is also gluten-free?
Holidaily is incredible GF (dedicated facility) beer!
Sierra Nevada is now offering a line of gluten-reduced beers (made in their Chico brewery), in partnership with Sufferfest. Any beer with “Sufferfest” on the label is gluten-reduced.
Stone is now making a gluten-reduced beer, as well: Stone Delicious IPA. Note that only the IPA with “Delicious” in the name is gluten-reduced; the others are just normal beer.
Henrys is not gluten free. It is malt.
I encourage all to be careful about this list as of September 2019. The suggestion that a prepared drink like a daiquiri IS gluten free is a misnomer and anyone who is a celiac knows why. What strawberry daiquiri or margarita mix or did that bartender use? It’s not necessarily the booze that will get you, but what’s in the mix. Especially at a bar where they buy it in bulk. Not all mixes contain gluten but some do. I have been burned. Just sayin…
I have Celiacs and Jack Daniel’s whiskey is just fine. You have to remember that not all celiacs react the same and sometimes you react due to something else. I appreciate this list thank you
New Belgium makes two types of gluten-reduced beer (that I know of), which don’t currently seem to be on the list. Can anyone verify how gluten-free they really are?
“Glutiny Pale Ale”
“Golden Glutiny” (lager; only available in Colorado, as far as I’ve seen)
I think your list is fine. After all its your list. People can F off if they don’t like it. Do what you feel is good. If people hate your list they can make their own. All else Thank You for taking the time to help others.
Also I can have Gulten, but I have a handful of friends that claim super Gluten free and I have to cook “special” for them ECT. But all of them drink an insane amount daily. & it’s nothing on this list usually common cheap beer not even wine. Anyways I got a card to play now with Gulten Free people I know. I’m tired of the hissy fits they throw. I have my own allergies, I get it sucks but most people don’t have Celiac. They just diet. & alcohol by itself is all around not a good diet food. Might as well enjoy a slice of cake. Stay away from the bottle all together.
Hi! You forgot FAIR. QUINOA VODKA
I am coliac and have been since I was an infant. Some of your listing isn’t correct and potentially dangerous to people who are true coliac. Jameson’s Irish whiskey IS gluten free and is the only whiskey I can consume. Jack Daniels being a huge no no. Please fix your context as its incorrect, especially when listing whiskeys please go and do more research or speak with true diagnosed coliacs.
“Jack Daniel’s Black Label Tennessee Whiskey has no carbohydrates (sugar or starch), gluten, fats, or cholesterol, as these are removed in the distilling process. One fluid ounce of Jack Daniel’s contains approximately 65 calories.” This is directly from the JD website
Stoli’s now makes a gluten free vodka!!! 🙂
Trust Me Vodka – Gluten Free
And Trust Me Vodka – Organic
I am a bit confused at which brands of gin in New Zealand are totally gluten free for a coeliac and also if frangelica is gluten free? Thank you for your list and for your help.
Malibu Rum is not gluten free. Thanks for this list!
Are champagnes GF?
I noticed Absolute Vodka conspicuously absent fro, your list although they claim on their site that while made from winter wheat, the distillation removes all traces of gluten. What is your take?
Saparo beer is gluten free JAPAN
Does anyone know if Barefoot wine spritzers are gluten free?
Nice Blog !
It helps me a lot .
Is Arbor Mist Moscato Mango Strawberry gluten free? I have done research and can’t find a definitive answer. Thanks!
I have been gluten free for 9 years and have figured some of this out by the school of hard knocks. I learned a few things and appreciate the input about Jameson’s. I think I’m just going to have to try it and see for myself. Interesting that Grand Marinier is on the glutenful list… I’ve been drinking it occasionally and never connected it to symptoms (although I often have breakouts and stomach problems and headaches and have come to expect that gluten/wheat is found in all sorts of things in life we don’t think about). All of us have our own unique chemistry and having a website like this that just helps us to navigate these challenges is really a gift. Thank you all.
Hi, I have been trying to find out if Cayman Jack Margarita is gluten free. Please let me know if you have done a review. Thank you.
Wow, I just started this journey and have been feeling really crazy about what to eat and drink. Last night I had two wings from a pizza with sauce on them and immediately my stomach started to churn! I have never had anything like this and I am 64 years old. Thank you for your help with the research.
You guys do some research… In lamens terms… All distilates are gluten free. 1 gluten can only survive at a certain temperature so anything above 30% and above are for sure gluten free. 2 gluten weighs too much to be evaporated and for any distilled spirit I.E vodka, rum, bourbon, rye, scotch, gin… Is created via evaporation
I have been told by distillation scientists that gluten cannot pass through the distillation process. Any gluten in distilled beverages is added to the beverage after distillation.
Jack Daniels is NOT gluten free… I have just recently checked it out.. It is made with Rye AND Barley, both of which are at the top of the list for Gluten.
what about twenty grand gold vodka infused with cognac
celiac.com says smirnoff is not okay and kahlua is
Is Amarula, Marula Fruit and Cream gf? It’s a South African liqueur. Also what about Flor de Cana Rum (18 yr) from Nicaragua.
Wyder ‘s pear cider is also gluten free! Thought I’d throw it in there since that’s what I usually drink! ,Cheers!
Hi Adam! Would you please consider Trust Me Gluten Free Vodka (www.trustmevodka.com) for your list? We are certified gluten free and potato based, made in Idaho. Each batch of our vodka is certified gluten free–not just the ingredients but the equipment as well. We take gluten free very seriously. Thanks!
Can you please add Tahoe Blue Vodka to your list of vodkas? It is a blend of Grape, Corn and Sugarcane vodkas and made with Lake Tahoe water.
So are all whiskeys out of the question, I have Celiac Disease
Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this
blog and I am impressed! Very helpful info particularly the
last part 🙂 I take care of such info a lot.
I used to be seeking this particular info for a long time.
Thank you and best of luck.
Cirrus Vodka, 100% potato based, made in Richmond, VA is gluten free!
I’ve ready that budlight it technically gluten free (testing under 20 ppm). I realy don’t think it’s true but if anyone can confirm this ide realy appreciate it.
I am intolerent to gluten (Wheat Allergic). can somebody help me know gluten free beers available in india ?? I am a huge fan of beers but due to non availability of gluten free beers in india. I am diverted to Whiskies….Kindly let me know Gluten free beers in india ??
I am intolerent to gluten (Wheat Allergic). can somebody help me know gluten free beers available in india ??
Thkx for all the info!!!
Is there a big difference in GF & yeast free??? I’m not supposed to consume molds or yeast… Is there a list or website I should look at???
I need to know of some Paleo/ Gluten Free Chardonnays out there. Again, not a fad, its a health thing, I understand not drinking is safe and better, however I attend many networking events and would like to have that “go to glass” when I go to a beer and wine only bar. I have heard that Tito’s, water, and limes/lemons are best. But some places don’t serve liquor. Please help!
Can anyone confirm if Glenfiddich is GF??????
Hey does anybody know if Sourz are gluten free?
I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
I will bookmark your weblog and test again here regularly.
I am quite sure I will be told lots of new stuff right right here!
Best of luck for the following!
Hi! Do you know if Tatratea has gluten? I can find no info on the internet about this tea liquor.
just seen this list and all the posts, I have had Celiac Disease from I was 7 and I am now 59,
while peeps are trying to help if I were you guys I would triple check all these lists out, cause it looks to me as if 25% of the products listed on here are actually fit for people with Celiac Disease, so please be careful cause everyone likes a wee tipple.
What an amazing list! I wish you had a downloadable version for my mobile. I could really use this. I’ve bookmarked this page so I can keep returning to it. 🙂
hey i was wondering about flavored “van gough” vodka? iv heard its GF but i wanna be sure?
I recently discovered Bearhug infusion vodkas…. absolutely delicious only to find out they are not gluten free even though they are 5 times distilled. Very disappointing.
Absolute is not gluten free
Another cider for you: Bold Rock.
It’s a Virginia-based cider, currently available in NC, VA, DC, MD, and parts of PA… but that footprint is expanding. Without a doubt my go-to when it comes to a refreshing beverage.
What about Absoute Vodka flavored? Are there any differences in gluten potency when it’s flavored?
Thank you for this site, I’m so grateful (:
I appreciate you making this list as I have not tested positive for celiac’s disease I do believe I have a gluten inintolerance so I am happy that you have this list despite the people that are bitching about how you listed “not 100% gluten free items” you put on it here…we’re adults use your best judgment people!!!
I have an allergy to wheat, barely and corn, do any of those listed contain corn in their product? Potato vodka is best fit for me but curious about the other vodkas, tequilas, rum and whiskey. Thanks for any feed back, I appreciate the outlet and info this site provides me since I just learned about my allergies 2 days ago, overwhelming to say the least.
Hi, so im allergic to wheat, completely. i have this problem when i go out on friday nights with my friends because they all drink beer. so i was told i can drink “rum and coke” or “vodka and club soda” but i was wondering if there are any suggestions for other mixed drinks? thx-fran
As an employee of the alcoholic beverage industry, Jose cuervo gold and silver is a mixto tequila. Any scotch should be avoided as it contains barley. Bourbon is aged in charred oak barrels and there is some risk of cc however the distillation process should take care of that.
Thank you one and all for your information. I especially thank Adam, without your time and effort; this site would not exist. I now understand why I cannot eat corn. I was first diagnosised with diverticuitis from eating corn. I now it is celiac disease. This came after years of stomach and skin issues.
Hi Iva, thank you so much. I’m so glad that I was able to provide some value to help with your newly diagnosed Celiac.
You can also add premium sake to your list as long as they are not flavired.
I have gluten sensitivity that makes me react to Omission. However I have been tested and am not Celiac.
Two vodkas that have not made your list are Praraie (sp) which is organic as well as GF and 4Oranges a Florida vodka made of oranges and totally GF.
As a follow up to my last comment, here are the gluten levels in different grains…
wheat contains 69% gluten
corn contains 55% gluten
barley contains 50% gluten
rye contains 50% gluten
millet contains 40% gluten
oats contain 16% gluten
rice contains 5% gluten
Buckwheat, spelt , quinoa and amarynth also contain glutens, but I’m not sure of the percentages. You see why these other grains should be avoided by celiacs.
For many years I was very careful about avoiding wheat and cross contamination of wheat. My mistake was replacing bread, pasta, etc. with these other grain products. After years of doing this, my intestines were so damaged the healing process took a long time. AVOID ALL GRAINS. They also interfere with your insulin, causing diabetes and hypoglycemia.
All gluten is not the same. Corn contains corn gluten, for example. Sticky rice is sometimes even called glutenous rice, but it doesn’t contain gluten. Sometimes prepared rice has wheat ingredients in the flavoring, so read the ingredients carefully. Oats contain the protein avenin which is similar to gluten, but it isn’t gluten. However, oats can be cross contaminated, so you should make sure you buy ones that are certified gluten free.
The term GLUTEN FREE is loosely used by the FDA labeling requirements to indicate wheat is an ingredient in the product. True celiacs, like myself cannot eat all foods labeled gluten free. Here’s why…
ALL GRAINS CONTAIN GLUTEN. Wheat, barley and rye are the most familiar but corn, millet, quinoa, oats, rice all contain gluten. Celiacs and those with gluten issues should avoid all grains.
Check out http://www.glutenfreesociety.org
Thank you for putting together a such a helpful list
Wow! This is a wonderful gathering of info. Is there a way to easily print the list? Love, joy and blessings to all in 2015!
OMISSION BEER: Recently there was some controversy over whether or not Omission Beer is truly GF. To me, it’s the best, most easily accessible beer to buy to take home w/you, and a great option at bars & restaurants. I’ve done some research on it, and they DO test & their beer meets the >20ppm standard for being gluten free. In addition, you can look up EACH bottle & see the actual ELISA test results. So far, all the ones I’ve checked have been >10ppm, so clearly safely gluten free. Woot!
This is from their website, and following it is the link to show you how to check an individual bottle/6 pack. Cheers! ^_^
“…gluten levels in Omission beers are reduced through a proprietary process and tested by an independent lab using the R5 Competitive ELISA.”
Adam, I’m a Scotch drinker & I’m wondering in your research if you came upon any Scotch makers who do the ELISA test for gluten ppm? I will share that I am extremely sensitive to trace elements of gluten, and safely drink Scotch. It doesn’t make sense, but it seems to be true for me. But ELISA test results would be awesome.
Is hypnotic gluten free?
i just want to say Thank You Adam for taking the time to compile all these lists. I see a lot of negative comments and just think people need to calm down. If you have Celiac Disease you should always take extra precautions and check for yourself. Adam your newsletters and posts have helped me out since my diagnosis in 2011. Thank You!
I have gluten & slightly elevated corn sensitivities. Jack & Cokes last night, queasy stomach today. I am going to give the Captain a try next time. Thanks for putting the list together!
It sure is nice to have info readily available as I figure out how to eat & tie one on.
Happy Holidays to all!!!
I have CD and get very sick from Captain Morgan every time. Thought maybe the first time it was the bartender but tried it at home and had the same results. The company says its gf but I react to it. Thank you for putting together this list. I’m excited to try some of the gf beers you recommended.
This is the best gluten free alcohol list that I’ve found, since being diagnosed 3 years ago. Thank you! I would love to add that Pinnacle vodkas are all gluten free, as well as Carolan’s Irish Cream. Someone asked about Rumchata, which is also gluten free. Yea!
Why does everyone say Absolute?? I got so sick from it! 🙁
We have heard Bud and Bud Light (and other A-B products) are fermented with rice greatly reducing gluten in the beers. Are they considered GF or Gluten intolerant tolerable?
I see that Absolut Vodka is on the list but it is made from winter wheat. Is the gluten somehow removed in the process? I’d beware of that brand.
I have tried Cold River and it is very “tasty” and know that it is gf as it is solely made from potatoes … a true vodka in that sense.
Smith & Forge is a favorite of ours! Also, our favorite GF beer is a local one here in MN- Burning Brothers Brewery, Pyro Pale Ale. It’s fantastic!
If you’re still updating the site, a favorite gluten free cider, (that is certified gluten free!) that I enjoy fairly regularly is Smith and Forge Hard Cider, it kind of tastes like apple pie.
IS VERMOUTH GLUTEN FREE??????
Corn is not gluten-free. It contains a different type of gluten than wheat, but most people who need to be gluten free should never consider eating corn. That said, I appreciate including things that will work for most people, but that others should not even touch.
Finally, Harvester has the best gluten free beers ever. Can’t believe they’re not on your list.
Also, Seattle Cider has the best semi-sweet and dry ciders out there.
Corn has a Type of “gulten” which is safe for CD. It’s not the same type of gluten. I have a severe reaction from gluten and I know other CD that have severe reactions who also eat corn.
*who can also eat corn
Jameson is gluten free.
Quick ?, when you say don’t consume if allergic to gluten, but they’re on the gluten free alcohol list…is that because they’re gluten removed? Like Omission…and Estrella Daura (which is fanfreakingtastic, I might add). Just curious, and look forward to your reply 🙂
Does Winter Wheat have Gluten in it?
i agree..wheat = gluten..surprized to see absolute on here
Hi, thanks for the list.
Do you know if the fruit flavoured ciders ( strawberry and lime, and berries) Are GF?
HI Carol, most if not all fruit flavored ciders are gluten free. For example, those from Strongbow, Angry Orchard, Reds, Crispin, and Bulmer’s are all safe.
Red’s Web site says their Strawberry Apple Ale is not GF.
Jagermeister has malt based caramel coloring. Cycled on and off just to be certain, but no good.
Rosemary Linder Day
Malibu rum is flavored and not 100 percent gf but it’s on your list. Can you clarify?
The ppm gluten number is higher than the safe amount for those allergic to gluten, but it’s still considered gluten free for people on a non-medical gluten free diet (paleo, wheat-free, etc.) Hopefully this helps Rosemary
Sailor Jerry’s rum is also Gluten free, goes great in Egg Nog this time of year too!
Adam, thank you for putting this together! I have read the comments before asking this question, trying not to repeat someone, What is your take on Corona Beer? I have heard that it is gluten free if you’re not allergic to gluten, also what about Corona lite?
Hi Kim, Corona is not gluten free. Sorry about that. Only a few beers are but these are smaller brands. I have still yet to find a gluten free Mexican beer but I’ll be on the lookout!
Tito’s vodka is gluten free. It’s one of their selling points. Its made in Austin, Texas. Gluten-free displayed on the bottle. Adam, thanks for all thelse GF information and lists. Just ran across your site.
Hi, what about Bud Lite? I hear it is made from rice not wheat. I have an allergy to wheat. Should this be safe?
What about Smith and Forge cider?
Yes, Smith & Forge is gluten-free. 🙂
Also, be careful of bars that have their well liquors on guns. I’m pretty sure I was glutened, after ordering a vodka. Wondering if I got a bit of wiskey or something with gluten, from the last pour.
do you know if any lemon cello is gluten free; how about lidestri limoncello pink??
I’m allergic to wheat and was wondering if anyone else has gotten sick from angry orchard? It’s labeled gf but the 2 times I drank it I’ve got sick. Once was from the tap so I thought it was contaminated so I tried the bottle. Same with Jack Daniels if your sensitive I wouldn’t touch it. I’ve drank Tillamore Dew Irish whiskey and it hasn’t made me sick.
I am a severe Celiac and I am unable to drink Angry Orchard. I love it but the last several times I have had a severe reaction to it 🙁 I haven’t tried anything else so I stick with a local wine.
I drink Strongbow and Woodchuck ciders and don’t have a reaction, but I don’t drink a lot and may make a difference.
Awesome list, I’ll be enjoying a few of these this weekend! A good gluten free beer or cider can be tough to find.
I have contacted Kahlua to find out if it was safe, and it in fact was and no possibility of cross contamination, so this was great news to share!
Maker’s Mark Bourbon should be added to your list of gluten free items as it is one of the few bourbons made from corn and not wheat.
Also, there is another potato vodka that I like called Chopin that I don’t see listed.
Thanks for making the list!
For fellow margarita fans, Grand Marnier is NOT GF but Cointreau is.
Ground Breaker Brewing is a dedicated gluten-free brewery and gastropub. Our beers are easily found in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, BC, Alberta, we are in the process of changing our name to Ground Breaker from Harvester.
I was just going to suggest this! I live in Portland and I LOVE Harvester/Ground Breaker! Made from Chestnuts, for those who haven’t heard of it. And THANK YOU, Adam, for putting together this list! It’s nice to know I have more options than I realized. 🙂
I’ve been drinking rye since (and before) I was diagnosed as celiac and haven’t had any adverse reactions. I was told the gluten doesn’t transfer during distillation. Is this the case? Or am I not a severe celiac?
Thank you so much for this list Adam and everything you email us!!! You’ve really helped me with my gluten free transition …
No problem Sarah! Thank you for subscribing!!
Nice list! Thank you for the efforts! I noticed very few gins are listed, are those listed the only ones that are GF? Golly, I hope not. I also wanted to say thanks for all of the input that comes from this site, so helpful!
I’m not a gin drinker, but wanted to note that Hendrick’s is on the list, and I have a friend (not a gf friend, just a “normal” guy ‘-) who says that once you drink Hendrick’s you will never drink anything else. So, gin drinkers – you’re in luck – the best is GF!! ^_^
The Absolut Vodka my husbands Aunt gave him says it is made from Swedish winter wheat. I took that to mean it has gluten in it. Is winter wheat different from regular wheat?
epic brewing just released their Glutenator beer which is made from sweet potato and molasses. No chance of gluten.
How about we all say THANK YOU for putting this list together?!?!? Jeez people….
Thank you Kristina 🙂
Yes, a Big Thank You for taking the time to educate us. I am new to a Gluten Free diet. I have Celiac and was told to be on a strict GF diet. I am so “bummed” about this, but thankful there is information online. To good health.
Your not the only one… I was diagnosed two weeks ago and I cannot lie, I was depressed… nothing like being told you can never eat whatever you want anymore… that was my gift for turn 30 I guess…. best bday present ever!
The relevant criticism applies to less than a fourth of the article, so your whole-sale condemnation of the article sounds extremely unfair. His caveat was a little ambiguous, and that deserves to be pointed out, but he did clarify several times. Relax, or put together your own expertly researched and comprehensive list with all of the perfections you find lacking here.
Yes, how about a THANK YOU to the person that took time to help us?!
Thanks, Adam!!!! ^_^
Im a severe Celiac for 5yrs Use your brain if you dont think its safe DONT DRINK IT!! RESEARCH FOR YOURSELF AND JUST STOP POSTING YOUR NEGATIVITY IM SURE THERES A WEBSITE TO CATER TO YOUR SISSY NEEDS!
Have you ever came a crossed a GF non alcoholic beer?
At this moment I have not but when I do, I’ll be sure to add it to the list.
Wines made in the U.S. and Australia are gluten free. Some European wineries still use a wheat plug in the cask, so may have trace amounts of gluten.
Thanks for the input Jim!
How about DeKuyper’s Peach Schnapps? We love Fuzzy Navel drinks. Thanks!
Hi Vicky, I have yet to find out if it is gluten free or not, but I’ll be sure to shoot them an email and get some clarification.
I’ve emailed them & received confirmation that their Peach Schnapps IS Gluten Free. ^_^
Are the other flavors gluten free as well? Such as sour apple, buttershots, grape and so forth?
Are wines gluten free?
Here’s a comment from one of my readers that should provide some clarification:
Wines made in the U.S. and Australia are gluten free. Some European wineries still use a wheat plug in the cask, so may have trace amounts of gluten.
Hopefully this helps!
There is a new line of Vodka coming out, made of Corn products. Deep Eddy.
Also, always check your mixers
How about: Whiskey Sour
Are these Gluten Free / Wheat Free ?
Since most whiskeys contain gluten, whiskey sours are probably not gluten free. It just depends on if you can find a gluten free whiskey, then if that’s the case, you should be fine.
Why do you list a spirit then say dont dronk if alergic to gluten
Hi Dick, I list it primarily because there are still people who follow a gluten free (or paleo) diet that don’t have to worry about small traces of gluten in their drinks. Also since some alcohols go through a distillation process which is supposed to remove the gluten, there is still a small chance that the alcohol contains a tiny trace of gluten which can be deadly to some folks.
I’ll say it again – if the product contains “a small chance that the alcohol contains a tiny trace of gluten” then DO NOT put it on your list.
Gluten free isn’t just for wheat but also rye and barley. Some labels will say gluten free but have wheat thus the reason to double check all labels. Also, gluten intolerance is very different than gluten allergy. Those like me who are gluten intolerant can handle tiny amounts of gluten and thus the way the list is designed works great for me. I think it’s great that the website is thinking about everyone and not just a few. Personally, I think this list rocks!
I agree that if it is NOT gluten-free it should NOT be on the list. Truly GF people are looking for GF products, not some with small amounts. I was initially excited to see that this site was listing GF alcohols. and was disappointed.
People, relax. I don’t see you going out, putting together a list, producing a website etc. If you have a problem, take note, move on. Quit bashing the guy who’s doing way more than you are.
Agreed! I love this list. And it does have notations next to the alcohol that may not be completely GF, so I don’t see the dilemma, or why people are throwing be fits.
Peeps!! I’m w/Greg & Jess & I have the worst of the worst Celiac Disease!
It’s been clearly explained:
-People who choose to live Gluten Free as a LIFESTYLE, for general health reasons, are not affected by trace elements of gluten.
-People who are gluten sensitive/gluten intolerant are not likely affected by trace elements of gluten, & they will know whether they are or not.
– Some people who have a gluten allergy will be affected by trace elements of gluten, some will not, & they will know whether they are or not.
– Celiacs, like me, WILL be affected by trace elements of gluten.
How awesome that this list explainably covers everyone! Thanks, Adam!
Hear hear I say let’s thank him for helping us . It’s a big thank you from me xx
If u r avoiding gluten for wellness conscious reasons, not medical,u should b avoiding alcohol altogether. Get a better understanding of labeling
I have a bad reaction to gluten and wheat… hives etc. I didn’t find a problem with the list at all… thanks Adam! Very informative and helpful… I don’t get why people are upset when it was only created to help them… smh!
I read that all distilled liquor is gluten free. that the distillation takes out any gluten (unless they add some back, and that’s rare). it makes sense to me.
I may be missing something, but this article is about gluten free alcohol. Why is there notations about not drinking if allergic to gluten. Does the items have gluten or not?
I also have the same question. It says “Other” Gluten Free Alcohol brands, but then in parentheses says (if allergic to gluten, don’t drink). I’m confused. Why list it under gluten-free then?
I emailed Adam and this is what he said:
The reason why I put the (if allergic to gluten, don’t drink) tag next to certain items is because although some of those alcohols are “gluten free” they do however have microscopic traces of gluten in them which should’ve been removed during the distillation process.
And since some people are really sensitive to gluten, they can still get a reaction from some of these drinks.
That’s why I only suggest that people who are following a non-medical gluten free or paleo diet drink those.
Sorry for the confusion, but hopefully this helps.
I hope this answers that question for others who also had that question!
If the product contains “microscopic traces of gluten in them”, then they are not gluten free, now are they?
Then don’t put them on your list at all.
Gluten in products is measured in parts per million (ppm), or parts of gluten per millions parts. Anything less than 20ppm is considered gluten free. Some manufacturers label that there’s less than 15 or even 10ppm in their products. But people with Celiac disease, or those extremely sensitive to gluten, can still be affected by these “gluten free” products.
That’s why they’re on this list. Because they are gluten free – by FDA and all other standards – but can still contain very trace amounts.
There is a big difference between “does not contain gluten or gluten ingredients” and “safe for celiacs to consume.”
Just because something is unsafe for a celiac to consume doesn’t mean that it should be held out of a list that folks who are avoiding gluten for other reasons may use. It’s not that hard to look at this list and make a choice based on your sensitivity or preference.
Also some of these aren’t gluten free but they use enzymes to break down and get rid of the gluten. It doesn’t always work.
There’s a difference between being allergic and being intolerant. If one is truly allergic then they could have a severe reaction possibly resulting in death
Sorry about that Dede, I’ll be sure to clarify that next time. Thank you.
So you say “So to be safe, stay away from all wheat based vodkas if you have Celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity.” and then you go on to list all these wheat based vodkas as Gluten free. The ONLY vodka on your list that is truly GF is the Luksasowa, a polish potato vodka.
Boyd & Blair (on the list) is potato-based and GF, and it’s really good if you like vodka (Vodka doesn’t like me).
Monopolowa is a potato vodka, and Ciroc is a grape vodka. The gluten is removed from the wheat vodkas during the distilling process but traces may remain, so some people may have a reaction to it.
Cicro is on the list too I know it is from grapes and GF
I constantly have a reaction to ciroc… ate youbsure its gluten free?
not true. Tito’s is awesome. Pau from Hawaii is great too. Made ftom pineapples.
I’m just learning, diagnosed with Celiac 2 weeks ago. LIV – Long Island Vodka is made from potatoes. Check with them further. Just microbrewery last year. Located in Baiting hollow,LI,NY. Cheers
Hello are all wines Gluten a Free?
From the Jack Daniel’s website:
What are the calorie, sugar, and gluten contents of Jack Daniel’s?
Jack Daniel’s Black Label Tennessee Whiskey has no carbohydrates (sugar or starch), gluten, fats, or cholesterol, as these are removed in the distilling process. One fluid ounce of Jack Daniel’s contains approximately 65 calories.
So just to confirm jack Daniels whiskey is gluten free? what about gentleman jack?
I dont think Jack Daniels is gf I have just googled and found this page and others because I just had a reaction to it. 🙁
I am 100% Intolerant, Jack Daniels has been a savior! Just don’t mix it with Canadian made Coke, which is full of Gluten, stick with U.S. produced Coca Cola.
Canadian Coca Cola DOES NOT contain Gluten. Please don’t comment if you don’t know what your talking about
What about Frangelica?
Yes, Frangelico is GF. 🙂
While in Canada this summer found a great gluten free beer called “GlutenBerg”. Can’t find it stateside.
I have heard about that too Wayne. I’ll be sure to add them to the list. Thanks!
Hii adam….is smirnoff vodka gluten free…….
I had the Gutenberg red ale recently in Regina, $7.50/bottle but worth every penny!
Where am I missing the wine list? I cannot find it. I don’t even see where the wine coolers are listed, although I know they aren’t wine.
i think most wines, if not all, are gluten free.
I have had lots of problems with red wines. Some, depending on the brands, are made in barrels coated in a flour paste and I have been sick several times from red wines and Sangria. I always check the brands now – so thankful for the internet!!
Wine has sulfites which can also cause problems. There are wines labeled, no detectable sulfites and wines with naturally occurring sulfites. Most health food stores carry these.
Another person who is clueless on sulfites and wine
and another Mason that is an ASS!!!
Watch out for dextrose in your Sangria. I’ve had commercial sangrias that made me ill. It’s not the wine itself, it’s the sweetener, which is derived from wheat.
dextrose is often made from corn
dextrose is derived from CORN.
Swing and a miss by another person who is either lying or is clueless
Wines that are fermented in French barrels are “not” gluten free. The French barrels cracks are sealed with a mixture of flour and water glue. Not Gluten Free!
What about wine coolers? I see they are listed as flavored beer instead of wine… Which ones are safe?
Most “wine coolers” are actually flavored malt beverages, which means they are not safe.
Would it say flavored malt beverage or indecision if its safe on the cask .
Try Spiked Seltzer they have 4 flavors and they are gluten free and refreshing. It was actually exciting to be able to have a nice cold drink like that again.
Bayou Rum is gluten free: Silver, Spiced and the Satsuma Rum Liqueur.
Check it out at BayouRum.com. Thank you.