When it comes to soy sauce, most people are usually quite shocked to find out that it contains gluten.
And it’s true, whenever you read the ingredients list on any normal soy sauce bottle, it clearly states wheat as one of the first ingredients.
Just in case you didn’t know, here are some facts about soy sauce. Soy sauce is made from a fermented paste of of boiled soybeans, roasted grains, brine, and aspergillus oryzae. This paste is then pressed, creating the liquid we know.
However, with the emerging demand for gluten free options, most soy sauce manufacturers have started to product gluten free soy sauce.
Tamari – Wheat Free Soy Sauce
Tamari style soy sauce is traditionally made without wheat.
Although this truly is a soy sauce, there are a few differences between tamari and normal soy sauce. The major difference being the absence of wheat.
Traditionally, tamari is also commonly used in Japan and Japanese foods/dishes since it’s a byproduct of miso paste. Because of this tamari is sometimes also widely known as miso-darmari.
Although many countries do use soy sauce, you’re bound to find tamari in Japanese cuisine and restaurants as opposed to other Asian ones.
Now in terms of taste, tamari has a more balanced and less salty taste than of soy sauce which typically has a harsh bite.
Other than that, these two types of soy sauces are almost identical – minus the absence of gluten.
Okay so with that being said, let’s jump straight into the listing of gluten free soy sauces.
Gluten Free Soy Sauces
Here are all the gluten free soy sauces (and tamaris) that everyone on a gluten free diet should be using.
Just make sure to always check the labels of each because some tamaris sometimes also contain wheat.
1. Kikkoman Gluten Free Soy Sauce
Kikkoman’s certified gluten free soy sauce consists only of water, rice, salt, and soybeans. And the best part about it is that it’s available in many supermarket, stores, and even online.
Now if there’s one thing you need to watch out with Kikkoman tamari is that they do make a similar tamari soy sauce that contains wheat. So whenever at the store or online, always read the label to make sure that you have the right version of their tamari soy sauce.
You can also find a wide variety of other gluten free Kikkoman soy sauces online.
2. Little Soya Soy Sauce
One of the best things about Little Soya Soy Sauce is the fact that these come in highly portable little fish shaped packets.
According to Little Soya, they currently test down to 10 parts per million of gluten, so it’s really safe.
Along with being gluten free, these Little Soya is also non-GMO certified.
You can find Little Soya at many major grocery stores and online.
3. San-J Soy Sauce
San J’s soy sauces are certified gluten free and available in a variety of options including regular tamari soy sauces, organic tamari, reduced sodium, and organic reduced sodium tamari soy sauce.
According to San-J, their soy sauces are brewed with 100% soybeans and no wheat which gives it a richer and smoother taste than regular soy sauce. San-J Tamari is also kosher, vegan, and Non-GMO Project verified.
One of the best things about San-J’s gluten free soy sauces is the fact that you can by small travel friendly packets as well, which are perfect for on the go or if you’re going to a sushi restaurant and aren’t sure if they service wheat free soy sauces.
And if you’re looking for more gluten free cooking sauce options, San-J offers plenty.
4. Eden Tamari Soy Sauce
Eden Organic offers two different types of tamari, one of which is made in the U.S. and the other which is imported from Japan.
The only difference between the 2 is that while the Japanese version is made using rice, the U.S. version is made using corn grains.
Other than that, they’re the same and are both considered to be gluten free up to 20 parts per million and are non-GMO certified.
5. Kari-Out Soy Sauce Packets
Kari Out offers perfectly portioned packets of savory gluten free soy sauce that are perfect for lunchboxes and on-the-go meals.
1 Major Tamari Brand to Avoid
Hopefully you enjoyed this listing.
Although it’s not a massive list and a few may seem to be missing, these are the safest choices and are highly recommended by most Celiacs and gluten free dieters.
The only one major tamari that’s missing is the one by La Choy.
Although all the ingredients are gluten free with no wheat presence, some people have reacted to this soy sauce. This could be due to cross contamination during manufacturing or other variables.
So be sure to steer clear from La Choy if you’re allergic. Now if you’re on a non-medical gluten free diet or paleo, you should be fine with this soy sauce.
Looking for a gluten free shopping list?
We got you covered in this awesome complete guide!
Discover Other Awesome Gluten Free Products & Resources
Ever wondered which sodas, candy, foods, drinks, yogurts, makeups, medicines, and other products were gluten free?
If so, then you absolutely need to cheek out this awesome guide.
Well That’s It
Thank you so much for reading and please share this list with anyone that you know will find great value in the guide.
Soybeans contain gluten.