Really, the only time they won’t be is if the restaurant shares a fryer with other glutenous food, which is a major cross contamination issue for Celiac diners.
However, there comes a time when some restaurants somehow doesn’t have gluten free french fries, despite having a separate, dedicate french fry fryer. You see, some restaurants use a special flour to coat their fries, while other’s sometimes use dust their fries in a seasoning that contains gluten.
But what about McDonalds?
And with that we’ll head straight into quite possibly the most controversial question in McDonald’s gluten free history…
…are McDonald’s French Fries Gluten Free?
No, they are not. Despite all the claims that people have been able to eat the fries without getting sick, the McDonald’s french fries technically contain gluten, according to their allergen and nutrition list. Here’s what it says…
FRENCH FRIES: Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Canola Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [Wheat and Milk Derivatives]*, Citric Acid [Preservative]), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (Maintain Color), Salt. Prepared in Vegetable Oil (Canola Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil with TBHQ and Citric Acid added to preserve freshness), Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent. * CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK. *Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients.
As you can see, the natural beef flavor in the french fries contain wheat. So the lifelong question has finally been answered.
McDonald’s golden fries are not gluten free.
But hey, that doesn’t mean that you can’t find something else to eat there!
Check out the full McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu
Be sure to check out the complete McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu by clicking here.
Thanks for reading and hopefully this has finally answered your question.
But, if you disagree or would like to share your experience with McDonald’s french fries, leave a comment below.