I’m going to keep this intro short and sweet (pun intended).
Everybody loves candy. Whether if you like to admit it or not, you probably have a sweet little addiction. Even if it’s not Halloween, there’s never a bad time for a little sweet treat.
But is your favorite candy gluten free? You can find out below in this epic gluten free candy listing.
Whether if you’re allergic to gluten, Celiac, paleo, or just want to remove any glutens from your diet, this candy list is exactly what you’re looking for.
But before we go there, let’s dive a little deeper into gluten free sweets.
Safest Gluten Free Candies
If you need a little sugar pick me up because you’re diabetic or just have a sweet tooth, there may be times when you really need some candy.
Whatever the case is, if you need or want to eat candy but don’t necessarily know if it’s 100% gluten free, these option below will definitely help make your decision a lot easier.
Here are a few candies that are generally always gluten free.
Now in no way am I saying that this is always 100% correct, but these candies usually never contain wheat or any glutens.
Here are some safe gluten free candy options:
You know those lollipops with those clear, see through wrappers that you get from the hospital or random office buildings? Generally, these are always gluten free. And most of the time, all lollipops are generally safe to eat, as long as they are just basic, plain old lollipops.
However, this doesn’t always apply to lollipops with special fillings like bubblegum since not all gum and bubble are gluten free.
Generally, most peppermints and spearmints are always gluten free. This doesn’t necessarily apply to mint flavored candies, but instead, pertains to just plain, hard candy mints.
3. Pure Dark Chocolate with no nuts, fruits, etc.
Typically, most dark chocolate is always gluten free, especially if it has a high cocoa percentage. Since dark chocolate consists primarily of fats and sugar, there really aren’t too many other ingredients that go into it.
The only time dark chocolate won’t be gluten free is when it’s flavored with fruits, nuts, spices, etc.
Other than that, in it’s purest form, dark chocolate is always a safe bet.
Now that you discovered a few safe gluten free candy options, let’s move on to some candies and ingredients you absolutely need to avoid.
Candy Red Flags
Some people believe that all candy is pretty much gluten free. And yes it may seem true at first especially when it comes to lollipops and milk chocolate, but there are some major no no’s that everyone who’s allergic to gluten must absolutely avoid.
Here are a few of the things that should immediately tell you if the candy contains gluten:
Any candies that include wafers in it are guaranteed to contain gluten. Candies such as Crunch Bars, Crispy M&Ms, and Kit Kats are the most common types of candies that contain wafers. The only exception would be a rice wafer however, that is extremely rare to find in any candy these days.
Some candies do contain pretzels which are made primarily of wheat flour. Although not too many candies currently contain pretzels besides Pretzel M&M’s there are quite a few chocolate covered pretzel treats.
Malt is one of those flavors and ingredients in candies that always secretly find it’s ways into candy. Besides the typical milk chocolate covered malt balls by Whoppers, malt candies include Malted Milk Eggs, and Maltesers.
Yes, licorice contains wheat flours. Crazy, right? And the sad thing is that this applies to all licorice flavors including the fruity ones. Popular licorice candies that contain what flour include Twizzlers, Red Vines, and Darrell Lea.
Although not too many candies contain cookies, there is one main one that does, Twix. So just make sure to avoid any sweets that contains cookies in it because 99.99% of the time, it will contain wheat flour or any other glutenous ingredients.
6. Holiday Season Variations
Although this isn’t a flavor or ingredient, some of those Easter, Valentines, and Halloween candy variations may contain gluten. This also includes any shaped candies. For example, normal Reese’s Cups are gluten free but the Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs are not. This is because these eggs are outsourced or licensed by other candy manufacturers. As a result, some of the ingredients and manufacturing processes may contain gluten or are cross contaminated.
So with that being said, always be on the lookout for seasonal or holiday themed candies because they may be made by a completely different company, despite the branding. So read the labels and ingredients list!
So whenever it comes down to picking out a gluten free candy and identifying red flags, always be on a look out for these 6 things.
Okay, so now that that’s done, let’s move on to what you originally came here, our GF candy list!
Gluten Free Candy List
Below, you’ll find all the popular candies and sweets that are gluten free and safe to eat. Dig in!
Here are all the candies made by Hershey’s that are safe to eat for anyone living a gluten free lifestyle (by choice or medically):
Almond Joy (all)
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Kisses
Hershey’s Filled Chocolate Kisses (only caramel and cherry cordial creme)
Hershey’s Nuggets (milk chocolate, milk chocolate with almonds, special dark chocolate with almonds, and extra creamy milk chocolate with toffee and almonds)
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz. size only)
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45 oz. size only)
Hershey’s Air Delight
Hershey’s Milk Duds
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (all except for seasonal shaped items, such as Valentine’s hearts)
Reese’s Pieces (all except for Reese’s Pieces Eggs)
Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate (all except for Minis)
Skor Toffee Bar
York Peppermint Patties (all except for York Pieces, York Minis and York Shapes)
Here are all the gluten free Mars candy that you can enjoy:
M&M’s (all except for pretzel-flavored M&M’s and some special flavors with a risk of gluten cross-contamination)
3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)
Milky Way Midnight Bar
Milky Way Caramel Bar
Dove Chocolate products (all flavors except for milk chocolate cinnamon graham & cookies and cream)
Snickers Bars (all flavors)
Munch Nut Bar
Here’s all the candy made by Wrigley that you can enjoy on a gluten free diet:
Altoids (except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint)
Hubba Bubba Gum
Hubba Bubba Bubble Tape
Life Saver Big Ring Gummies
Lifesaver Hard Candy
Starburst Fruit Flavored Candy Corn
Stracciatella Lindor Truffle
Citrus Lindor Truffle
Cappuccino Lindor Truffle
Mint Lindor Truffle
White Lindor Truffle
Chili Excellence Bar
70% Cocoa Excellence Bar
99% Cocoa Excellence Bar
Raspberry Excellence Bar
Roasted Almond Excellence Bar
A Touch of Sea Salt Excellent Bar
Intense Mint Excellence Bar
Dark Coconut Excellence Bar
White Coconut Excellence Bar
White Chocolate Classic Recipe Bar
White Chocolate Lindor Bar
Large Surfin Bittersweet Bar
Dark Chocolate Swiss Thins
Gocce di Sole Gift Bag
Coffee Black Hello Stick
No Sugar Added Dark Chocolate Bar
No Sugar Added Milk Candy Bar
Here’s the Farley’s and Sather’s Candy Company gluten free candy selection:
Black Forest Mini Gummy Bears
Little Monsters Fruit Snacks
Brach’s Candy Corn
Brach’s Gummi Candy Corn
Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn
Brach’s Caramel Apple Candy Corn
Brach’s Indian Corn
Brach’s Autumn Mix
Brach’s Assorted Mellowcremes
Brach’s Pumpkin Spice Candy Corn
Brach’s Candy Corn and Nut Mix
Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
Brach’s MilkMaid Caramels
Now and Later Original
Now and Later Mini Bar
Now and Later Soft
Super Bubble Blast
Trolli Gummi Bears
Trolie Sour Brite Crawlers
Sour Brite Eggs
Troll Big Bold Bears
Trolli Evil Twins
Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
Here’s everything made by Nestle that you can enjoy on a gluten free diet.
Butterfinger Bar (original only)
Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)
Raisinets (including Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
Here are all the Tootsie Roll candies that are gluten free:
Cella’s Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
Cella’s Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
Tootsie Peppermint Pops
Caramel Apple Pops
Fruit Smoothie Pops
Tropical Stormz Pops
Charms Blow Pops
Charms Super Blow Pops
Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy
Sugar Daddy Pops
Sugar Mama Caramels
Charms Sour Balls
Charms Candy Carnival
Here are all the candies from Impact Confections that are gluten free and safe to consume:
Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes
Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy
Warheads Super Sour Spray
Warheads Sour Dippers
Warheads Double Drops
Melster Peanut Butter Kisses
Melster Chocolate Covered Marshmallow
Here are all the fruit snacks made by Welch’s that you can enjoy today:
Fruit Snacks (all varieties)
PB and J Snacks
Here are all the delicious gluten free candies that you can enjoy made by Mondelez International:
Sour Patch Kids
Sour Patch Xtreme
Sour Patch Xpolderz
Here are all the gluten free candies made by Willy Wonka himself:
Wonka Pixy Stix
Mini Chewy Sweetarts
Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope)
Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip
Here are all the candies (mainly jelly beans) that you can enjoy from Jelly Belly:
Jellybeans (all flavors)
Here’s Necco’s gluten free candy listing:
Necco Chocolate Wafers
Candy House Candy Buttons
Canada Mint, Wintergreen and Spearmint Lozenges
Mary Jane Peanut butter Kisses
Banana Splits Chews
Mint Julep Chews
Haviland Thin Mints
Here’s everything made by Just Born that you can enjoy on a gluten free diet:
Mike and Ike Berry Blast
Mike and Ike Italian Ice
Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
Mike and Ike Original Fruits
Mike and Ike Redrageous
Mike and Ike Tangy Twister
Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
Mike and Ike Zours
Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
Mike and Ike Hot Tamales
Goldenberg’s Vintage Peanut Chews
Mike and Ike Mummy Mix and Vampire Variety Treats
Mike and Ike Tropical Heat
Mike and Ike Vampire Variety
Mike and Ike Strawberry Reunion
Chocolate Creme Peeps Minis
Sour Watermelon Peeps Minis
Strawberry Creme Peeps Minis
Peeps Sweet Lemonade
Flavored Marshmallow Chicks
Peeps Chocolate Mousse Flavored Cats
Peeps Sugar Free Marshmallow Pumpkins
Peeps Marshmallow Ghosts
Vanilla Creme Peeps
Just Born Jelly Beans
Here’s the complete listing of all gluten free Haribo candies:
Gold-Bears (make sure they aren’t the “juicy” variety)
Here are all the Russell Stover candies that are made free of gluten:
Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Pumpkin
Orange Marshmallow Pumpkin
Caramel and Marshmallow Pumpkin
Dark Chocolate and Caramel Pumpkin
Dark Chocolate and Marshmallow Pumpkin
Dark Chocolate and Coconut Cream Pumpkin
Coconut and Almond Pumpkin
Dark Chocolate and Raspberry Cream Pumpkin
Dark Chocolate and Orange Cream
Thankfully, all Tic Tacs are gluten free.
Tic Tac (all flavors)
Here are all the Airheads that are gluten free:
Here are all the candies made by Smarties that are gluten free:
Smarties Original (United States only)
Here’s Spangler Candy’s gluten free list:
Here’s the listing of any other candies and brands that are gluten free:
Now if you really want to ensure that your candy is 100% free of any glutenous ingredients, you can always make your own. It may take a lot of work and you may not be able to truly recreate the Snickers bar, but it definitely allows you to control every single aspect of your candy virtually guaranteeing it to be safe to be safe to eat.
A Word of Advice
Now although all these candies are considered to be gluten free according to the company, there may be time when the ingredients change. As a result, always read the labels and ingredients list prior to eating any of the candies above.
Your safety is my number one concern and the last thing I’d want for you is to eat something that’s been contaminated with or contains gluten.
Also one last thing…
This is list is for United States candy only. Although generally most of the candies above are also gluten free overseas, there are some of them that do contain gluten in other countries.
For example, Smarties in the U.S. are gluten free but the Smarties in Canada contain gluten. This may be due to different manufacturing processes and/or flavors and ingredients used in the candy.
So if you are purchasing or consuming any of these candies outside the U.S. this list may be a little inaccurate.
Chewing Gum Anyone?
You probably noticed one big category of candy or sweets missing from this list – chewing gum. But don’t worry, I got you covered.
Below, here’s a link to my gluten free chewing gum guide. Enjoy!
Candy Canes Anyone?
Any thing missing is the seasonal treat – candy canes. Below, you’ll find a list to my gluten free candy cane list which is perfect for Christmas time. Enjoy
Is it Halloween Yet?
Believe it or not, this listing may not be as useful as you think once Halloween rolls around. Why you ask? Mainly because some of the candies that you can find during Halloween are flavored differently, made with different ingredients, or even made by different companies. Yes, you heard that right, different companies.
Reese’s Egg’s not made by Hershey’s? You betcha. And they aren’t gluten free.
Below you’ll find the newly updated list to all Halloween candies and goodies..
*And on a side note, some holiday candies actually may not be gluten free, even though they are normally. So always be sure to read the labels and ingredients first before consuming.
Thanks for reading. If you have any other gluten free candy and sweets suggestions, please leave a comment below. Or you can send us a message on your GF Facebook Page here.
P.S. For a complete rundown of all gluten free foods and drinks, including alcohol, be sure to check out our newly updated list of gluten free food and drinks.