Whiskey is a type of alcohol typically made from gluten grains which are removed to 20 ppm.
According to most Celiac Disease experts, most whiskey is safe to drink for Celiacs.
However, since everyone reacts to gluten differently, you will have to drink at your own risk.
So with that being said, let’s jump straight into the gluten free whiskey listing!
Gluten Free Whiskey List
Here are all the whiskey brands that are gluten free.
Fireball Cinnamon Whisky (don’t drink if allergic to gluten)
Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Whiskey
Jameson Irish Whiskey (don’t drink if allergic to gluten)
For a complete listing of all gluten free whiskey flavors, click here.
Check Out Our Gluten Free Alcohol Guide
If you’re looking for the complete listing of ALL gluten free alcohol brands and their flavors/variations, be sure to check out our Ultimate Gluten Free Alcohol Guide.
In the guide you’ll find an in-depth listing of gluten free vodka, rum, whiskey, brandy, tequila, beer, hard cider, and so much more.
Click here to check out our guide!
Thanks for reading and hopefully you enjoyed this gluten free whiskey list and ultimate guide.
I am allergic to gluten at very low levels, for example, I became ill (diarrhea, body aches, other flu-like symptoms) for 1-2 days after consuming less than a teaspoon amount of regular soy sauce. So when it comes to grain alcohols like whiskeys, I am VERY cautious.
It is true that the distillation process, when done properly, removes all gluten (even for my level of sensitivity). ¡¡HOWEVER!! some whiskey and bourbon makers, after distillation, add back some of the “mash” used in the fermentation (chock-full-o-gluten) or may add flavorings / colorings that could contain gluten. Moreover, there may be a chance for contamination when aging occurs in wooden casks that contain grain-based coatings…
There don’t appear to be any definitive resources that have tested commercial whiskey brands for gluten content, and this is very frustrating. Does anyone know if the makers are required to report what ingredients are added after distillation?
I’m confused. You list Johnny walker whisky as gluten as gluten free but don’t drink if you are ellergic to gluten. Please explain
Rye, wheat and barley all have gluten. Without these grains, it’s hard to get whiskey…
So they’re not gluten free.
Come on, guys. No gluten is left after the distillation. The question is whether any post-distillation ingredients (colorings, flavorings) have been added back in which contain gluten.
Hi Adam, as a confirmed Celiac with severe sensitivity I have gotten sick from distilled-without-post-distillation-added-ingredients (whiskey). Please be careful about what you post publicly as “fact”. 20 PPM (parts per million) gluten may be ok for people with gluten intolerance, but for people who have Celiac’s Disease- some who show symptoms, or even scarier, those who do not show outward symptoms, can severely degrade the villi in the small intestine which can cause malabsorption and malnutrition of anywhere in the neighborhood of six months to a year in order for the body to repair itself. If you have Celiac it is recommended to stay away from all Whiskey and any alcohol for that matter, that has been made from gluten containing proteins- wheat, barley and rye. Long live Tequila! 🙂