Did you know that some popular sodas actually contain gluten? Crazy, right?
But thankfully, the number of gluten free sodas (or gluten free pop) far outweighs the rest.
But just remember that most sodas are processed and considered gluten free only to less than 20 parts per million (ppm).
So if you happen to be very sensitive to gluten, be sure to take extra precautions when trying to find the perfect gluten free soda.
Gluten Free Soda List
Below, you’ll find the list of all major soda brands and their flavors that are gluten free. Just remember that this is the United States and Canada only list. And thankfully, many of these sodas can be found at many major restaurants as well. Enjoy and drink up!
A&W Root Beer
- Root Beer
- Root Beer
- Caffeine-Free Root Beer
- Diet Root Beer
- Red Creme Soda
- Coca Cola
- Caffeine Free Coke
- Coca Cola Classic
- Coke Zero
- Cherry Coke (U.S only)
- Diet Cherry Coke (U.S. only)
- Cherry Coke Zero
- Vanilla Coke (U.S. only)
- Vanilla Coke Zero
- Diet Coke
- Diet Coke Plus
- Caffeine Free Diet Coke
- Diet Coke with Lime
- Dr Pepper
- Cherry Vanilla Dr Pepper
- Diet Dr Pepper
- Dr Pepper Cherry
- Fanta Grape (U.S. only)
- Fanta Orange (U.S. only)
- Fanta Orange Zero (U.S. only)
- Mountain Dew (all flavors)
Mug Root Beer
- Mug Root Beer
- Mug Cream Soda
- Diet Pepsi
- Pepsi NEXT
- Pepsi One
- Cherry Pepsi
- Pepsi Vanilla
- All other Pepsi flavor variations
- 7Up Ten
- Diet 7Up
- Cherry 7Up
- Diet Cherry 7Up
- 7Up Lime
- Sierra Mist
- Sprite Zero
- Diet Sunkist
- Sunkist 10
- Sunkist Grape
- Sunkist Strawberry
Looking for a gluten free shopping list?
We got you covered in this awesome complete guide!
Thanks for reading and be sure to share this Gluten Free Soda list with anyone that you know will find it beneficial.
Check Out Our Other Gluten Free Lists
Here are some other great gluten free food and drink lists you should also check out:
Any know if Food Lion Ginger Ale is gluten free?
This is good to know Cuz I was diagnosed a few months ago with being allergic to wheat, corn, soy beans, peanuts, olive trees and a few other things so now when I read gluten-free I also have to make sure it isn’t made with corn instead. And most of the time the meaning of gluten-free means not made with wheat. So it gets nerve-wracking sometimes.
I am a recent diagnosed celiac and I am trying to maneuver the very cluttered world of “Glutenfree” as long as it is below 20 PPM. It seems like I am reacting to things below 20PPM – All of the Coca Cola and Pepsi products for that matter are only guaranteed “glutenfree” below 20PPM. Is any of the celiacs in here reacting to coke or pepsi products? Thanks!
Does anyone know if aldi’s citrus twist lemon lime soda is gluten free?
There are more gluten free sodas that are not on the list. Virgil’s Micro Brewed Cream Soda, Black Cherry cream, Root Beer and Real Cola . Check at http://www.Virgils.com
A &W Root beer is listed as gluten free. How about A&W Cream Soda?
I’m wondering about house brand sodas both in thr US and Canada, as we winter in Fl , but are Canadian residents. Kathy from Moncton NB Canada.
I have personally reacted to Dr Pepper and Cherry coke. I have read elsewhere that their flavored syrups might contain wheat in them.
Thanks Adam for helping me to understand the basic of Gluten Free. It is much appreciated. loretta
Does Mello Yellow have gluten in it?
Is vernors gluten free
I’d like to know this as well
Vernor’s IS gluten-free as well. It is part of the Dr. Pepper Snapple Group and is NOT listed on their allergen section for wheat or gluten (see my post above for more info on Dr Pepper Snapple Group). 😉
Very interesting helpful hints! You are helping many people so that they know there are options!
A&W has modified food starch and I reacted to it as I would gluten, so I’m pretty sure it isn’t gluten free
I react to A&W root beer as well!
As of 2012, US food allergen labeling changes REQUIRE companies to state if modified food starch is derived from wheat (it is NOT derived from barley or rye AT ALL in the US). So, if it just says “modified food starch”, then it does NOT have wheat in that ingredient.
If you are having a reaction to “modified food starch”, then I would suggest considering looking into seeing if you you have an ADDITIONAL allergy/intolerance (like, perhaps, to corn, which is another source of modified food starch and also seems to be a relatively common allergen among the gluten sensitive).
Wonderful post Adam! Very informative! What restaurant have you had the best gluten-free food? Remember to add it to your Besty List!
I would also be interested in seeing a list of pop that is said to contain Gluten.
Wait! No ginger ale? I don’t drink pop often but choose Canada Dry ginger ale (a Coke product) for its tummy soothing properties and now it could be making it worse? I’d also love to see a list of gluten containing pop. Thanks!
Canada Dry DOES NOT have gluten in it.
The Dr. Pepper Snapple Group Website lists only Mr & Mrs T’s Horseradish Bloody Mary Mix, out of their MANY products, as containing gluten.
This list here of gluten free sodas is NOT exhaustive and is quite misleading. As another commenter has mentioned, it would probably be better to make a list of sodas that CONTAIN gluten because I have yet to run into one.
From the 7UP website: The DPSG [Dr. Pepper Snapple Group] brand portfolio includes Snapple, Dr Pepper, 7UP, A&W Root Beer, Sunkist Soda, Canada Dry, Hawaiian Punch, Schweppes, RC Cola, Diet Rite, Mott’s Apple Juice, Venom Energy, Clamato, Mr & Mrs T, Rose’s, Yoo-Hoo, Orangina, IBC, Stewart’s, Nantucket Nectars and other well-known consumer brands.
Mr pib has gluten. Stay far away!
BOTH Pibb Xtra and Pibb Zero are listed as gluten free by the Coca-Cola company. If you are trying to blame the caramel colouring, it is made from corn in the US and does not commonly contain wheat any more.
The caramel coloring in sodas I.e. Pepsi, Coke contain gluten. I just found that I have a gluten sensitivity and have told to stay away from such sodas.
I too have recently found out that I am highly sensitive to gluten… I seen Pepsi listed on the gluten free soda list and was craving a little caffeine so I got a can of Pepsi and without even consuming half of 12 oz can, I am already showing symptoms (extreme stomach bloating). I will definitely not be drinking anymore soda as I am having to sit at my desk feeling miserable with two more hours to go before time to go home.
No matter which sodas made it on the list, I truly believe that it is best to stay away from them all to be on the safe side.
I was diagnosed with Celiac Sprue 6 years ago and shortly after that my doctors informed me that I have a severe intolerence to gluten and unlike many others with Celiac and Gluten intolernce I would have to be 1005 gluten free in order to feel no symptoms. This of course is virtually impossible as many sources have told me. The reason for this is that even with new guidelines in labeling a product can be considered Gluten free while actually containing up to 20 parts per million of gluten. While that sounds pretty low there are many sufferers that can not tolerate even that level, I being one. Keep in mind that there are many processed foods and drinks, as well as candy that may be considered gluten free and legally they are, but to a small group of people with the most serious intolerence even a miniscual ammount can cause serious problems. I adhere to a very strict diet and have 30 years of professional cooking to help me, but I still suffer symptoms on a weekely basis ranging from a minor uncomfortable pain, to 2-3 multi day episodes a month leaving me unable to carry on my normal activities. Point is if you want to be gluten free you have to follow a very very strict adherence to no gluten 24 hours a day everyday combined with eating as much naturally gluten free foods as possible. Things like fresh veggies, fresh or unproccessed meats and expecting gluten to be in everything. Only when I started looking at every item you can consume as a possible source did I begin to get a handle on it. A sad way to have to eat, but a reality. As a side note, keep in mind also that many Major candy brands that are made in the united states and considered gluten free are sometimes ” farmed out to companies in Mexico and Canada during busy times of the year. While they are still considered a product of the American company their Gluten free labeling does not always rule, since those countries are not as strict on labeling. Want to be as safe as you can possibly be? Download as many gluten free apps as you can find and use them daily in your diet. I can pretty much get the answer to any food within minutes via my tablet.
I have celiac sprue disease for over ten years. I have to eat gluent free products which is very expensive. I wonder if u could help me. I am not working and I don’t have any income coming in. My address is 4348 E 103 Ave. Crown Point, Indiana 46307. Thank u
Beaver, Is that your real name?
What help would you like? I also have Celiac Disease.
Please reply and tell me what you had in mind when placing this message.
W/no income, u should be able to get food stamps. That’s how I pay for mine. Aldi’s has gluten free stuff. I have no income either
Can you publish a list of sodas that DO contain gluten? I was diagnosed 14 years ago and I’ve never actually run into a soda that contained gluten. Would be interesting to see which ones do! (although I rarely drink the stuff anyways). Jeffrey’s comment above is interesting as well as it really plays into the “gluten free diet is healthier” misconception. No where above does it say that gluten free sodas are healthy…This article isn’t about healthy soda-it’s about those that a suitable for people who need to be on a gluten free diet.
I have celiac and also dermatitis herpteformis rash that often goes along with it. I am very sensitive to gluten. i can NOT drink Diet Coke or I get itchy, but I CAN drink Coke Zero so there is a little gluten th Diet Coke
Same to me, I can’t drink even diet coke. If I drink occasionally, I start have symptoms
I’m pretty sure it must be something else you’re sensitive to. I checked a while back and it was safe.
I agree. I’d like to see one that HAS gluten so I kno what to stay away from
Do all the listed Gluten Free sodas have High Fructose Corn Syrup? IF so, that still doesn’t sound healthy to me? Sodas actually had gluten at one time?